Applied
Geophysics
  Planet Formation   Space Physics &
Space Sensorics
   
         figure: ESA

BepiColombo

photography of Mercury

Photography of Mercury in the visible light.© NASA


A special feature of planet Mercury, the closest planet to the Sun, is its magnetic field. Usually, a planetary magnetic field is generated by electric currents in the planetary interior, the liquid iron core, in a so-called dynamo process. In the past, it was assumed that Mercury should not possess a liquid core since it was believed to be completely solidified long ago. In constrast to this, NASA’s Mariner 10 mission confirmed at two short flybys a small but global magnetic field. So there is probably still a liquid core and a dynamo process in the interior of Mercury. An important requirement for the dynamo is that at least a portion of the core is liquid and is constantly stirred by convection. Using ground based radar measurements of the slightly uneven rotation, this liquid layer was detected. Nowadays, it is assumed that a light alloying material like sulfur keeps the core from freezing until the present.


Comparison of the inner structurs of Mercury and Earth

In comparison to Earth, Mercury has a relatively large iron core. The core must be least partially molten. The existence and the extent of the inner solid core is still not constrained. © NASA/APL



But again, the Hermean magnetic field caused a headache for scientists. The question is: Why is the magnetic (dipole) field so weak? If you transfer the knowledge gathered from the terrestrial dynamo And other solar system bodies to the Hermean case, the magnetic field should be at least 10 times stronger according to the scaling laws. A number of researchers have speculated on how this conflict with dynamo theory could be resolved. Models that rely on a special interior structure have been developed and implemented in full computer simulations. These simulations are an important tool to look inside inside a planet. Now, the goal is to map the magnetic field to a higher degree in order to compare the measurements with the simulations. This is one of the reasons why ESA has initiated the BepiColombo mission to Mercury in collaboration with the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency.


Fluxgate Magnetometer

The IGEP uses such a magnetometer for the BepiColombo mission (tri-axial fluxgate magnetometer). © IGEP


BepiColombo is going to be the first European Space mission to Mercury. The rocket launch is scheduled for 2015 from Korou in South America and only after 7 years of travel this mission will arrive. The mission consists of two sattelites:

  1. the Mercury Planetary Orbiter (MPO)
  2. the Mercury Magnetospheric Orbiter (MMO).
With these two, it is then possible to explore this enigmatic planet in detail. From an engineering point of view, the challenge is to provide instruments that are capable to cope with the temperature fluctuations in the vicinity to the Sun, because the distance to our star is only one third of that of the Earth – therefor the solar radiation is about 10 times stronger. One of the scientific instruments on board BepiColombo is a magnetometer from the TU Braunschweig, Institute for Geophysics and Extraterrestrial Physics (IGEP). This magnetometer was developed in collaboration with the Institute for Space Research, Graz, Austria and the Imperial College, London, UK.


Convection in Mercury's Core

How does convection look like inside the planetary core, that is responsible for the magnetic field? Here, the surface of the planet (grey) and the convective cells from a computer simulation (iso-volumes of equal z-vorticity) at the core-mantle boundary (blue and red) are shown. © Daniel Heyner


At the IGEP, we do not only develop and build magnetometers but also model planetary magnetic fields. Because of the weak planetary magnetic field only a small magnetosphere is formed. This is also highly dynamic compared to the terrestrial one. The problem is that due to these highly varying magnetic fields it is challenging to separate spatial and temporal changes in the magnetosphere. Which part of the magnetic field has its origin in the Planetary core and which stems from the magnetosphere? This issue is followed by the researchers at the IGEP. The two satellites promise a great amount of data the separation problem can be tackled with. The NASA mission MESSENGER currently in orbit around Mercury consists only of a single space craft. Thus, the dataset will be as large as it is expected for the BepiColombo mission.


Feedback dynamo mechanism

Schematic model of the feedback mechanism. Mercury is in the center. The crust is grey, the mantle dark red, the fluid outer core yellow and the solid inner core dark grey. The soloar wind enters from the lower left and interacts with the planetary dipole field (one field line is shown in green). As a result the magnetopause is created (blue paraboloid) on whiche the magnetopause currents flow (indicated with a white arrow). These current cause another magnetic field (red), that is anti-parallel directed to the internal field at the core-mantle boundary. [Heyner (2011b)]


At the IGEP, also a special model explaining why Mercury possesses such a weak dipole field is developed. The magnetic field of the magnetosphere could also be the reason for the low magnetic field strength. Since the magnetic dipole field of the planet and the first degree magnetic field of the magnetosphere are inherently anti-parallel to each other – even after a polarity reversal – a negative feedback on the dynamo could arise. Researchers at the IGEP could demonstrate in a computer simulation that only a relatively weak external field from the magnetosphere is required to significantly alter the evolution of the dynamo. With the computer simulation, it was possible to derive a characteristic magnetic spectrum that can be compared to the BepiColombo data in the future.


The BepiColombo-Team at the IGEP


PUBLICATIONS


LINKS

 
updated: 11/05/2012 IMPRESSUM webmaster responsible: Prof. Dr. K.-H. Glaßmeier

Angewandte
Geophysik
  Planetenentstehung   Weltraumphysik &
Weltraumsensorik
   
         Bild: ESA

BepiColombo

Photographie vom Merkur

Photographie vom Planeten Merkur im sichtbaren Licht.© NASA

Ein besonderes Merkmal des sonnennächsten Planeten Merkur ist sein Magnetfeld. Für gewöhnlich entstehen die planetaren Magnetfelder durch Strömungen im flüssigen Planetenkern - in einem sogenannten Dynamoprozess. In der Vergangenheit dachte man, dass Merkur keinen flüssigen Kern haben sollte, da der Planet schon längst als ausgekühlt angenommen wurde. Entgegen dieser Lehrmeinung konnte die NASA- Mission Mariner 10 in den 70er Jahren in zwei kurzen Vorbeiflügen ein globales Magnetfeld bestätigen. Also gibt es wohl doch einen Dynamoprozess im Inneren des Merkurs. Eine wichtige Voraussetzung für den Dynamoprozess ist, dass zumindest ein Teil des Eisenkerns im Inneren des Planeten flüssig ist. Mittels erdgebundener Radarvermessungen der leicht ungleichmäßigen Rotation des Planeten konnte eine flüssige Schicht im äußeren Kern nachgewiesen werden. Es wird vermutet, dass ein gelöstes, leichtes Element wie Schwefel den Kern des Planeten bis heute flüssig gehalten hat.


Vergleich des inneren Aufbaus

Vergleich des inneren Aufbaus der Erde mit Merkur. Der Merkur hat im Vergleich zur Erde einen relativ großen Eisenkern. Ein Teil des Merkurkerns muss flüssig sein und ermöglicht damit einen Dynamoprozess. Die Größe bzw. die Existenz eines inneren, festen Kerns ist noch völlig ungeklärt. © NASA/APL


Doch wieder sorgte das Magnetfeld für Kopfzerbrechen. Die Frage ist: Wieso ist das Magnetfeld so schwach? Wenn man die Erkenntnisse vom Erddynamo und den erforschten Magnetfeldern von anderen Planeten im Sonnensystem auf Merkur überträgt, sollte dessen Magnetfeld mindestens 10 Mal so stark sein. Eine Reihe von Forschern haben Vermutungen angestellt, wie dieser Widerspruch zur Dynamotheorie entstehen kann. Dazu wurden meist spezielle Modelle zum inneren Aufbau des Planeten erdacht und in Computersimulationen umgesetzt. Diese Simulationen sind für die Wissenschaftler eine wichtige Methode, um quasi in den Planeten hineinzuschauen. Nun muss das Magnetfeld des Merkur besser kartiert werden, um das tatsächliche magnetische Außenfeld mit den Dynamosimulationen zu vergleichen. Dazu hat die ESA, in Zusammenarbeit mit der japanischen Raumfahrtagentur JAXA, die BepiColombo Mission auf den Weg gebracht.


Fluxgate Magnetometer

Das IGEP setzt für die BepiColombo-Mission Magnetometer wie diese ein (tri-axiale Fluxgatemagnetometer). © IGEP

BepiColombo wird die erste europäische Raumfahrtmission zum Merkur. Der Raketenstart ist für 2015 vom Weltraumbahnhof in Kourou in Südamerika geplant und erst nach 7 Jahren Reise trifft die Mission beim Merkur ein. Die Mission besteht aus zwei Satelliten:

  1. der Mercury Planetary Orbiter (MPO)
  2. der Mercury Magnetospheric Orbiter (MMO).
Mit diesen beiden Satelliten ist es dann möglich, diesen ungewöhnlichen Planeten detailliert zu untersuchen. Die große Herausforderung ist, die Satelliten mit Instrumenten auszustatten, die die extremen Temperaturschwankungen in dieser Sonnennähe verkraften, denn Merkurs Abstand zur Sonne beträgt gerade mal rund ein Drittel des Erdabstandes. Damit ist dort die Sonneneinstrahlung rund 10 mal so stark wie bei der Erde. Eines der wissenschaftlichen Instrumente an Bord ist ein Magnetometer der TU Braunschweig vom Institut für Geophysik und extraterrestrische Physik (IGEP). Dieses Magnetometer wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Weltraumforschung, Graz, Österreich und dem Imperial College, London, Großbrittanien entwickelt.


Konvektionsbewegungen im Merkurkern

Wie sehen die Konvektionsbewegungen im Planetenkern aus, die für das Magnetfeld verantwortlich sind? Dargestellt sind die Oberfläche des Planeten (grau) und die Konvektionszellen aus einem Computermodell (Isovolumen mit gleicher Z-Vortizität) an der Kern-Mantelgrenze (blau und rot).© Daniel Heyner


Am IGEP werden aber nicht nur Magnetometer entwickelt, sondern es wird auch das Magnetfeld modelliert. Auf Grund des schwachen Magnetfeldes bildet sich nämlich nur eine kleine Magnetosphäre aus. Diese ist im Vergleich zur terrestrischen auch noch hochdynamisch. Das Problem ist, dass man durch die hohe Dynamik Schwierigkeiten hat, räumliche und zeitliche Variationen voneinander zu trennen. Welcher Teil des Magnetfeldes stammt von Innen, also vom Dynamoprozess, und welcher stammt von der Magnetosphäre? Dieser Frage gehen die Forscher am IGEP nach. Die zwei BepiColombo-Satelliten versprechen eine gute Datengrundlage, um dieses Ziel der Trennung der magnetischen Quellen zu erreichen. Die derzeit im Orbit befindliche NASA-Mission Messenger besitzt nur einen Satelliten und die Datengrundlage wird nicht so umfassend wie es von der BepiColombo-Mission erwartet wird.


Modellschema zum Feedbackdynamo

Schematische Darstellung des Feedbackmechanismus. Merkur ist in der Mitte zu sehen. Die Kruste ist grau, der Mantel dunkelrot, der flüssige Kern gelb und der feste Kern grau dargestellt. Der Sonnenwind kommt von unten links und wechselwirkt mit dem planetaren Dipolfeld (exemplarisch mit einer Feldlinie in grün gezeigt). Dabei entsteht die Magnetopause (blauer Paraboloid) auf der die Magnetopausenströme fließen (exemplarisch mit einem weißen Pfeil angedeutet). Diese Ströme erzeugen wiederum ein Magnetfeld Bext (rot), dass aber an der Kern- Mantel-Grenze stets anti-parallel zum planetaren Magnetfeld steht. [Heyner (2011b)]


Am IGEP wird auch an einem speziellen Dynamomodell geforscht. Das Magnetfeld der Magnetosphäre kann nämlich auch die Ursache für das schwache Dynamofeld sein. Da das Dipolfeld des Planeten und das genäherte Feld der Magnetosphäre inhärent anti-parallel ausgerichtet sind – also auch nach einer Umpolung – kann eine negative Rückkopplung entstehen. Die Forscher am IGEP konnten in einer Computer-simulation zeigen, dass nur ein geringes von außen einwirkendes Magnetfeld ausreicht, um die Entwicklung des Dynamos wesentlich zu beeinträchtigen. Mit der Computer- simulation ließ sich auch ein charakteristisches magnetisches Spektrum ausarbeiten, dass einen Vergleich mit den gespannt erwarteten Daten der BepiColombo-Mission zulässt.


Das BepiColombo-Team am IGEP


PUBLIKATIONEN


LINKS

 
aktualisiert: 06.04.2017 IMPRESSUM webmaster verantwortlich: Prof. Dr. K.-H. Glaßmeier