Applied
Geophysics
  Planet Formation   Space Physics &
Space Sensorics
   
         figure: ESA

Rosetta

Comets are an extraordinary occurence on the night sky. Consisting of unprocessed material of the early solar system, they provide important indications of its formation. The European spacecraft Rosetta will rendezvous the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko in may 2014 in order to make measurements concerning its physical and chemical properties, the structure of the nucleus and its interaction with the solar wind. Therefore, Rosetta will orbit the comet in a distance of a few kilometers. Additionally, the lander PHILEA will be deployed onto the nucleus to perform the first experiments on the surface of a comet. Together with Churyumov-Gerasimenko, the orbiter and the lander will approach the sun in summer 2015 investigating the comet's increasing activity as an "in-situ" measurement.


The IGEP participates in the Rosetta mission with an experiment both on the orbiter (RPC) as on the lander (ROMAP). That means, that both experiments were partly developped at the IGEP and that scientists at the IGEP are the PIs of the experiments.


The mission was launched on march 2, 2004 by an Ariane-5 launch vehicle from Kourou, French Guayana. During its long way to 67p/Churymov-Gerasimenko, Rosetta will swing-by the planet Mars and fly-by the asteroids 2867 Steins and 21 Lutetia and study them from greater distance.



Mission schedule

Rosetta

Artist impression of the spacecraft (© ESA)

Event Nominal date
Launch March 2004
First Earth gravity assist March 2005
Mars gravity assist February 2007
Second Earth gravity assist November 2007
Asteroid Steins flyby September 2008
Third Earth gravity assist November 2009
Asteroid Lutetia flyby July 2010
Enter hibernation July 2011
Exit hibernation January 2014
Rendezvous manoeuvre May 2014
Start Global Mapping August 2014
Lander Delivery November 2014
Perihelion Passage August 2015
End of Mission December 2015



The mission was named after the "Rosetta Stone", found in 1799 in Egypt, which helped the linguists Champollion and Young for the first time to unravel the hieroglyphs. And just as this stone contributed in understanding the civilization of the ancient Egypt, the Rosetta space mission is intended to disclose the last secrets of the oldest inhabitants of our solar system: the comets. Consisting of precursor material of the solar system, comets material has hardly changed for the last 4,6 billion years. The study of comets offers therefore an unique possibility to look back in time and to explore the provenience of our solar system.


The Rosetta team at the IGEP



Links

 
updated: 09/07/2016 IMPRESSUM webmaster responsible: Prof. Dr. K.-H. Glaßmeier

Angewandte
Geophysik
  Planetenentstehung   Weltraumphysik &
Weltraumsensorik
   
         Bild: ESA

Rosetta

Kometen sind durch ihren langen Schweif eine besondere Erscheinung am Nachthimmel. Sie bestehen aus unverändertem Material des frühen Sonnensystems, so dass sie wichtige Hinweise zu dessen Entstehung geben können. Die europäische Raumsonde Rosetta soll im Mai 2014 den Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko besuchen, um dort Messungen der Zusammensetzung, des Aufbaus und der Wechselwirkung des Kometen mit dem Sonnenwind zu machen. Dazu soll Rosetta als Orbiter den Kometen im Abstand von wenigen Kilometern umkreisen und das Landegerät PHILAE absetzen, das wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen direkt auf der Oberfläche des Kometen durchführen kann. Gemeinsam mit dem Kometen werden sich der Orbiter und der Lander im Sommer 2015 der Sonne nähern, wobei die zunehmende Aktivität des Kometen erstmals "in-situ", also vor Ort beobachtet wird.
Das IGEP ist mit jeweils einem Experiment auf dem Orbiter (RPC) und dem Lander (ROMAP) an der Mission beteiligt. Dies bedeutet, dass die Experimente am IGEP mitentwickelt wurden und Wissenschaftler des IGEP "Principal Investigator" der beiden Experimente sind.

Gestartet wurde die Mission am 02.März 2004 mit einer Ariane V von Kourou in Französisch-Guayana. Während der langen Reise wird Rosetta außerdem an den beiden Asteroiden 2867 Steins und 21 Lutetia vorbeifliegen und an ihnen Messungen aus größerer Entfernung durchführen.


Missionsverlauf

Rosetta

Künstlerische Ansicht der Sonde (© ESA).

Ereignis Zeitpunkt
Start März 2004
Erstes Swing-by Manöver an der Erde März 2005
Swing-by Manöver am Mars Februar 2007
Zweites Swing-by Manöver an der Erde November 2007
Vorbeiflug am Asteroiden 2867 Steins September 2008
Drittes Swing-by Manöver an der Erde November 2009
Vorbeiflug am Asteroiden 21 Lutetia Juli 2010
Eintritt in den "Winterschlaf" Juli 2011
Ende des "Winterschlafes" Januar 2014
Rendezvous Manöver Mai 2014
Beginn der globalen Vermessung August 2014
Absetzen des Landers November 2014
Durchgang durch das Perihel August 2015
Missionsende durch kontrollierten Absturz September 2016



Als Namenspate für die Mission wurde der ägyptische Ort Rosetta gewählt, in dessen Nähe 1799 eine halbrunde Stele gefunden wurde. In den Stein ist ein Text in zwei Sprachen und drei Schriften eingemeißelt, der maßgeblich zur Entschlüsselung der ägyptischen Hieroglyphen beitrug. So wie dieser Stein ein Schlüssel zum Verständnis alter Kulturen war, soll die Rosetta-Mission viele Fragen über die Kometen, die ältesten Bewohner unseres Sonnensystems, klären. Ihre Untersuchung bietet eine zuvor nie da gewesene Chance in die Zeit zurückzublicken und die Ursprünge unseres Sonnensystems zu erforschen.


Das Rosetta-Team am IGEP


Braunschweiger Beiträge auf dem Rosetta Blog


LINKS

 
aktualisiert: 07.04.2017 IMPRESSUM webmaster verantwortlich: Prof. Dr. K.-H. Glaßmeier