Applied
Geophysics
  Planet Formation   Space Physics &
Space Sensorics
   
         figure: ESA

RESEARCH GROUP SPACE PHYSICS & SPACE SENSORICS

Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Glaßmeier

The research group Space Physics and Space Sensorics deals with the investigation of physical processes in the solar wind, especially concerning the interaction between solar wind plasma and "planetary bodies" like planets, their satellites, asteroids and comets.


The Earth's magnetosphere is the classical example for an interaction region between the solar wind and a planet. Magnetospheres are characterised by a variety of dynamic processes and spacial structures. Earth's magnetosphere

Halley's Comet A visible example for a magnetosphere in the larger sense is the plasma tail of a comet, e. g. the Halley's Comet.

The physical processes are dominated by plasma physical processes, which are investigated by the research group with theoretical as well as with experimental approach using modern procedures of data and signal analysis.


The specific properties of the interaction mainly depend on the nature of the planetary body. At the planets Saturn, Jupiter, Earth and Mercury the planetary magnetic field is the actual obstacle the solar wind has to flow around. As interactions of the magnetospheric magnetic field and the dynamo inside the body are possible the research group is also interested in questions concerning the dynamo theory. In the case of Mercury, for example, the weak magnetic field can be explained by a negative feedback between the magnetospheric and planetary magnetic field. Feedback dynamo

Romap Fluxgate magentometer On experimental side the development, building and system integration of magnetometers on different space missions (Rosetta, THEMIS/ARTHEMIS, BepiColombo, Hayabusa-MASCOT, JUICE) play an important role for the research group. In the centre of interest lies the so called fluxgate magnetometer, which is used on every of the mentioned missions.

The research group also runs the internationally very renowned calibration lab Magnetsrode.

Important international collaborations are maintained with the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research in Göttingen, the Imperial College in London, the The Space Research Institute in Graz, the University of Berkeley, the Institute of Space and Astronautical Science in Tokyo, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Boston. The space missions of the research group are realised in cooperation with DLR, ESA, NASA and JAXA and are supported by the DLR, Bonn.

 
aktualisiert: 02/12/2014 IMPRESSUM webmaster verantwortlich: Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Glaßmeier

Angewandte
Geophysik
  Planetenentstehung   Weltraumphysik &
Weltraumsensorik
   
         Bild: ESA

ARBEITSGRUPPE WELTRAUMPHYSIK & WELTRAUMSENSORIK

Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Glaßmeier

Die Arbeitsgruppe Weltraumphysik und Weltraumsensorik beschäftigt sich mit der Erforschung physikalischer Prozesse im Sonnensystem, insbesondere mit Fragen der Wechselwirkung zwischen dem Sonnenwindplasma und planetaren Körpern. Als planetare Körper werden hier Planeten und ihre Monde sowie Asteroiden und Kometen betrachtet.


Die Magnetosphäre der Erde ist das klassische Beispiel für die Wechselwirkungsregion zwischen dem Sonnenwind und einem Planeten. Magnetosphären sind gekennzeichnet durch eine Vielzahl dynamischer Prozesse und eine reichhaltige räumliche Strukturierung. Magnetosphäre der Erde

Halles'scher Komet Ein sichtbares Beispiel für eine Magnetosphäre im allgemeineren Sinne ist der Plasmaschweif eines Kometen, z. B. des Halley'schen Kometen.

Die physikalischen Prozesse sind wesentlich plasmaphysikalische Prozesse, die im Rahmen dieser Arbeitsgruppe sowohl theoretisch, als auch experimentell und mit modernen Verfahren der Daten- und Signalanalyse untersucht werden.


Die jeweiligen Eigenschaften der Wechselwirkung hängen hauptsächlich von der Beschaffenheit des planetaren Körpers ab. Bei den Planeten Saturn, Jupiter, Erde und Merkur ist das planetare Magnetfeld z. B. das eigentliche Hindernis, das der Sonnenwind umströmen muss. Da Wechselwirkungen magnetosphärischen Magnetfelder mit dem Dynamo im Inneren eines Körpers möglich sind und z. B. im Falle des Merkur dessen schwaches Feld durch eine negative Rückkopplung zwischen magnetosphärischen und planetaren Feld erklärt werden kann, ist die Arbeitsgruppe auch an Fragen der Dynamotheorie interessiert. Feedback Dynamo

Fluxgate-Magnetometer Auf experimenteller Seite spielt die Entwicklung, der Bau und die Systemintegration von Magnetometern auf verschiedenen Weltraummissionen (Rosetta, THEMIS/ARTHEMIS, BepiColombo, Hayabusa-MASCOT, JUICE) für die Arbeitsgruppe eine sehr große Rolle. Im Zentrum des Interesses stehen sog. Fluxgate-Magnetometer, die bei allen genannten Missionen zum Einsatz kommen.

Die Arbeitsgruppe betreibt auch das international sehr renommierte Kalibrierlabor Magnetsrode. Magnetsrode

Wichtige internationale Kooperationen bestehen mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung in Göttingen, dem Imperial College in London, dem Institut für Weltraumforschung in Graz, der University of Berkeley, dem Institute of Space and Astronautical Science in Tokio oder dem Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Boston. Die Weltraumprojekte der Arbeitsgruppe werden in Zusammenarbeit mit DLR, ESA, NASA sowie JAXA durchgeführt und durch das DLR Bonn gefördert.

 
aktualisiert: 12.02.2014 IMPRESSUM webmaster verantwortlich: Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Glaßmeier